Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band is a renowned American roots music band that has experienced a resurgence in recent years. Originally formed as a jug band in 1966, the group grew in popularity and became a cornerstone of the country-rock scene by 1969. After a successful 50th anniversary tour, the band expanded to a six-piece lineup in 2018, including Jeff Hanna, Jimmie Fadden, Bob Carpenter, Jim Photoglo, Ross Holmes, and Jaime Hanna. All members contribute vocals, and their harmonies bring a powerful new element to their music. The band’s career highlights include their breakthrough in 1970 with the release of “Uncle Charlie & His Dog Teddy” and the hit single “Mr. Bojangles.” They also achieved success in the 1980s with pop and country hits like “An American Dream” and “Fishin’ in the Dark.” The band’s iconic album, “Will the Circle Be Unbroken,” recorded with numerous country and bluegrass legends, is considered a landmark in American music. They have continued to tour, collaborate with other artists, and release new music, keeping their extensive songbook alive. The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s resilience, evolving lineup, and deep musical roots have contributed to their enduring success in the music industry.